Darren Dahl Eileen Fischer Gita Johar Vicki Morwitz
Darren Dahl
is the BC Innovation Council Professor, Senior Associate Dean–Faculty, and Director of the Robert H. Lee Graduate School at the University of British Columbia’s Sauder School of Business

Eileen Fischer
is the Anne & Max Tanenbaum Chair in Entrepreneurship and Family Enterprise, and Director of the PhD Program at York University’s Schulich School of Business
Gita Johar
is the Meyer Feldberg Professor of Business at Columbia University’s Graduate School of Business
Vicki Morwitz
is the Harvey Golub Professor of Business Leadership at New York University’s Stern School of Business

Editors-Elect 2018-2020

On behalf of the Policy Board of the Journal of Consumer Research, I am delighted to announce the journal’s next team of editors. Professor Jeff Inman will serve as editor in chief, and professors Margaret (Meg) Campbell, Amna Kirmani, and Linda Price will serve as co-editors. Their three-year term will start January 1, 2018, when they will begin overseeing all new manuscript submissions. The current editor team will continue to process all revised manuscripts until April 1, 2018.

J. Jeffrey Inman is Associate Dean for Research and Faculty, Albert Wesley Frey Professor of Marketing, and Professor of Business Administration at the University of Pittsburgh’s Katz Graduate School of Business. Margaret C. Campbell is Professor of Marketing and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs at the University of Colorado Boulder’s Leeds School of Business. Amna Kirmani is Professor of Marketing at the University of Maryland’s Robert H. Smith School of Business. Linda L. Price is Philip H. Knight Chair and Professor of Marketing at the University of Oregon’s Lundquist College of Business.

The editorial team comprises highly recognized and accomplished scholars who offer a broad range of conceptual, methodological, and substantive perspectives, which is critical for our interdisciplinary journal. JCR will be in excellent hands. More details regarding the editorial transition will soon be available.

For their thoughtfulness and professionalism during the editor selection process, I thank my Policy Board colleagues: professors Greg Allenby, Eric Arnould, Hans Baumgartner, Ed Blair, Amber Epp, Don Lehmann, Debbie MacInnis, Daphna Oyserman, L. J. Shrum, and Fred Wherry.

Richard J. Lutz

Change in Editor Submission Policy

The Policy Board of the Journal of Consumer Research has voted to institute a new policy regarding current editors publishing in JCR. The policy precluded editors from submitting their work to JCR during their term as editors. Effective July 1, 2016, a new policy went into effect that allows current editors to submit their work to JCR for publication consideration. The new policy provides for special review procedures for editor submissions. This policy is designed to ensure the anonymity of the editor and author(s), thereby eliminating potential favoritism in the review process. Read More >

Appointment of Special Guest Editor David Glen Mick

Darren Dahl  
The Policy Board is pleased to announce that Professor David Glen Mick has agreed to serve as the first guest editor under the new editor publication policy. Professor Mick is the Robert Hill Carter Professor of Marketing in the McIntire School of Commerce at the University of Virginia. He served with distinction as editor of JCR from 1999 to 2003. He is a long-term member of the JCR ERB, a past president of ACR, an SCP Fellow, the founder of the transformative consumer research movement, and one of the most respected and prolific scholars in our field. His willingness to assume the special guest editor responsibilities will greatly assist JCR in implementing this new policy as fair, balanced, and as free from conflict of interest as is feasible. Professor Mick assumed his responsibilities July 1, 2016 and has agreed to an initial three-year term.

Past Editors

  Mary Frances Luce, 2011-2014
Ann McGill, 2009-2014
Laura Peracchio, 2011-2014
John Deighton, 2005-2011
Deborah MacInnis, 2009-2011
Baba Shiv, 2009-2011
Dawn Iacobucci, 2003-2005
David Glen Mick, 1999-2003
Robert Burnkrant, 1996-1999
Brian Sternthal, 1993-1996
Kent Monroe, 1990-1993
Richard Lutz, 1987-1990
James Bettman, 1982-1987
Harold Kassarjian, 1982-1987
Seymour Sudman, 1981-1982
Robert Ferber, 1977-1981
Ronald Frank, 1972-1977